Revealing Errors Blog Post

“Revealing Errors” by Benjamin Mako Hill presents itself to be informative and differential in the process of presenting error as a learning experience from which corrections or further insights is derived from than typical error and glitch that is represented as a distortion form the “norm”. Specifically the first part of the article reminds me of our prior discussion in the class where we talked about how the use of extensions like “Hola” which allows the Google Chrome browser to survey versions of Netflix from other countries, was seen as a glitch in Netflix’s eyes and due to that they corrected or rather impeded the process of viewing multiple versions of it site. The fact that users found, in a sense, a loophole in the system, represents a different approach of error and glitch which caters more to the use of technology and its affordance when in use by the public. (I’m not entirely sure if I’m using the term correctly).

The examples in the article which refer to the “new” dialect of texting called “TXTSPK” intrigued me not only because it mentioned that due to the T9 system errors in communicating through text are more prone to happen, but also because I have been reflecting upon my poor texting capabilities lately. Besides autocorrect guessing the words that I’m about to type, and also correcting me in the way I spell said words, I feel like it also leads me to assume that things are said/typed. By this I mean that sometimes I forget to incorporate words like “the” “I” or “a” which significantly help in the understanding of my sentences. This is a thought that has recently popped in my head which leads me to wonder if its just a personal issue, or is the whole “new” dialect of “TXTSPK” to blame for my lack of attention to the completion of my texting and poorly processed sentences.

 

One thought on “Revealing Errors Blog Post

  1. Interesting link to the Hola extension on Netflix.

    Regarding your internal conflict on whether your “poor texting habits” is due to a personal problem or the TXTSPK, I would probably say it is the latter. We are required to type fast messages on a tiny little keyboard with only our thumbs, and we do so at such a rapid pace that the text technology must keep up with us, and help us fill in the blanks. I emphasize the words “rapid pace” I am sure if you were to type sentences out on a keyboard with all of your ten digits, or write them down, these text errors would immediately disappear. In essence, if companies had to spend resources to create spell checking technology for text message users, your “poor texting capabilities” are the norm.

    Like

Leave a Reply

